Saturday, February 5, 2011

Kenta Kiritani, Nao Matsushita, Hikari Mitsushima honoured at the Elan D'or Awards

by Chris MaGee

The awards season in Japan continues to roll along. This past Thursday the 55th annual Elan D'or Awards were handed out in a ceremony in Tokyo. Founded and operated by All Nippon Producers Association the Elan D'or spent the majority of its five plus decade history honouring the best newcomers in Japanese film. It was actually only 10 years ago that the Awards branched out and began granting Best Film, Best Producer, and Best Series honours along with its bread and butter of Best Newcomers.

It was no surprise that Tetsuya Nakashima's "Confessions" ended up taking Best Film this year while it's production team of Yuji Ishida and Yutaka Suzuki shared Best Producer spot, but who did the Elan D'or jury give the coveted Best Newcomers awards to? Kenta Kiritani (above left) star of "Beck", Michiko Kichise star of "Elevator to the Gallows" and "Nodame Cantabile", Kenta Kiritani's "Beck" co-star Takeru Sato , Nao Matsushita (above center) star of "The Unbroken", another "Beck" co-star Osamu Mukai and the ubiquitous Hikari Mitsushima (above right) of "Sawako Decides" and "Love Exposure". Actress Shinobu Terajima took home a special award for her remarkable work in Koji Wakamatsu's Edogawa Rampo adaptation "Caterpillar".

Thanks to Tokyograph for the details on this news item.

No comments: